Weeks Nine and Ten and Eleven: Busted.

Project: Bureau of Education and Services for the Blind 

Actual Time Taken: 20 minutes

FAIL.

EPIC FAIL.

TOTAL AND UTTER FAIL.

Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 6.07.37 PM

Harsh. But possibly true.

For the past three weeks, I’ve not even come CLOSE to my hour a week goal. But in my defense, I’ve been nursing my neck injury and hosting some of the most epic pity parties of my lifetime.

Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 6.08.51 PM

Wah.

Ok, that’s no defense at all.

This injury has really taken a toll on my emotional well being, as well as my physical body. For some reason, even though this injury wasn’t as serious as the first time I herniated my disk four years ago, my emotions have been all over the place, but mostly in the dumps.

I’ve taken this time out of work especially hard, financially and emotionally, for reasons I still am struggling to figure out. I spent most of these two weeks around the house, resting in bed, reading, moping, feeling generally pretty sorry for myself. Looking back, I feel like forcing myself to volunteer and get out of the house may have been the smartest thing to do to beat the funk, but I didn’t manage to accomplish that at the time. My depression absolutely immobilized me to a degree that surprised my usual busy-body self.

Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 6.10.41 PM

Me, usually. *Sans glasses…*

I finally found the time to work on my Bureau of Education and Services for the Blind project of transcribing a book from print to a Word document on the flight from Hawaii back to the mainland, but could only manage about 20 minutes of work before sleep overtook me.

Yet another not-good-enough excuse.

I’m struggling this week, as I regain my traction in life, to not be too hard on myself for this small lapse in this blog and project. I’m trying to be a little compassionate to my condition and where I was mentally those few weeks.

But it’s hard. Being hard on myself is kind of a way of  being… and I’m not sure how healthy it is.

Leave a Reply

