Weeks 12-19: Even more fails, with some wins mixed in

Well, I am continuing to try not to be too hard on myself here. But to be honest, it’s hard.

 

I had a few friends (including my boyfriend) who encouraged caution with embarking on such a lofty goal as trying to do something good for the world for at least one hour a week. They were worried that if I missed the mark that I would be inordinately hard on myself.

 

Well, they were right.

 

But I’m also glad that I’m documenting this experience for myself. I’m fascinated to observe my own habits, my own priorities, what takes up seemingly all of my time, and how much motivation I need to get something done, front to back, January 1st to December 31st.

 

For the past few (7) weeks, I’ve travelled from Hawaii to Atlanta to Toronto, been injured and healed from a serious neck injury, reintegrated myself back into my work place, and decided to start a business in ernest, and to research buying and living in an RV for my remaining time on tour.

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 1.33.17 PM

None of this excuses missing my goal of volunteering once a week. But it does illustrate where in the heck my time went.

 

A few weeks I did manage to transcribe the book I’ve been working on for the Bureau for the Blind, as well as setting up a highly successful Goodwill campaign in Atlanta in my theater. One week I spent 45 minutes making and putting up signs around the theater, and then the next week I spent five minutes asking my dresser to bring it to Goodwill for me.

 

So it’s not all for naught.

 

But this is my mea culpa entry. I’ve missed the mark for a solid ten weeks of 52. Now, back to WORK. My mission is to get an hour of transcribing this book this week, and figuring out what more I can do to make the world better next week.

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 1.29.39 PM

Horse, I’m back on.

 

Let’s GO.

Leave a Reply

