Weeks 20-24: A month of almost making the mark…

Project: Bureau of Education and Services for the Blind, Talk Backs for Lion King

Actual time: 2 hours

Ok horse, I see you.  (see last post…)

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 1.29.39 PM

So just writing about getting volunteer hours done doesn’t make it happen. Lesson Learned.

I can proudly, however, report that I am DONE transcribing the children’s book for the Bureau of the Blind (!!) after many weeks of working. I sent it off and breathed a sigh of relief. Now the blind children of Connecticut have a  mediocre young adult book to read in braille. (Sorry Secrets of Droon. I mostly was inspired to write my own version of a children’s book while working on this. And I’m not even an author. So presumptuous of me… for shame!)

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 4.21.19 PM

I still haven’t heard back from them, however… so I hope it got there ok…

At any rate, I did about three ‘talk-backs‘ after shows for the Lion King. These consist of school groups timidly asking us questions like “How long did it take you to learn the show?” and “Who were you?” all while being less excited about me than Nala standing next to me.

((Introducing Selena Moshell, ensemble dancer! *tepid claps* And here’s Nia Holloway, our Nala! *the crowd goes wild…*))

Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 5.22.02 PM

I can’t blame them. She’s my roommate and I still get excited to see her daily.

I’m used to it though. And I love doing talk backs anyway. The kids are always really excited to meet us and some are aspiring dancers, so some of them are still at least mildly impressed that I get to dress up like an animal for a living.

So this week I’m starting a nine week run in DC at the world famous Kennedy Center.

Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 5.20.14 PM

My house for nine weeks! I can’t even believe it!

It’s simultaneously humbling and exciting, overwhelming and unbelievable. It’s like the Carnegie Hall of performing arts, in DC. Crossing my fingers that the Obamas can make it…

This week I’m going to work on sending a care package to soldiers deployed though the website AnySoldier.com. I’m super excited about this, especially since we are performing in a town with so many memorials to so many service men and women who gave their lives for our beautiful freedom. In fact, as I write here in the cafe on the terrace in the Kennedy Center, I think I can see a few of the graves at Arlington from here… just incredible.

Leave a Reply

