Week 36: Does helping my family count?

Project: Babysit for my sister

Actual Time: 3 Days

Chicago Trip 003

This week I flew to Chicago to help out my sister during a very busy work week for her. She’s the mother to two of the most beautiful babies the universe has ever known.

And no, I’m not biased.

2014-09-02 18.46.53Chicago Trip 030

See? Cutest. Babies. Ever. 

My sister had a lot going on this week, and for her to save money on sitters (and for me to hold babies- duh) I volunteered to take a few days off of work to hang with the kiddos.

Our days were spent watching every Disney movie I could think of, playing in their water-table on their balcony, and running up to the park down the street for a swing-session.

2014-09-02 18.50.00

Leo on the water-table drums.

Now. Is this volunteering? Does this count? Let’s see. 

Does it help the world? Yes. My sister was SO appreciative of me being there. I even helped train her new nanny, which put my sister even more at ease, which is less stress and anxiety in the world… so yes, the world is a little better.

Did I get paid for it? Well… if you want to count getting to watch cartoons and eat chicken nuggets for my every meal as a payment. So… sorta. But not really.

Does it help out a good cause? Yes! My family means the world to me, and helping them out is one of the most fulfilling things I can imagine.

2014-09-03 15.49.22 2014-09-02 19.29.20

Lovebugs, the both of ’em!

So, by this highly scientific rubric, I guess I did (technically) volunteer for three days. Sure, it was for a cause that’s extremely close to my heart, my family, but if you can’t start affecting change for the good, where can you……  amiright?

2014-09-02 17.25.09

Leave a Reply

