Week 37: Volunteering dreams …

Project: iFred Proposal

Actual Time Taken: 45 minutes

This weekly volunteering project this year is officially taking over my brain. My proof? It has infiltrated my dreams.

I had a dream last night that I was volunteering at the Orlando Science Center with some new kittens and puppies (some were the size of worms. Dreams are weird, no?) When I came back the next day, I saw that they were all gone, they had slid out of the tupperware tub they were wrapped up in. I was distraught, and then embarked on an fevered investigation with my dad focusing on a local cult…. but that’s for another blog post.

Screen Shot 2014-09-13 at 7.21.10 PM

Master detectives, to be sure.

Point being, I was dreaming about volunteering.

This week, the work I put into this project was practically dreaming… I dreamed up a proposal to send to an organization that supports to people affected by depression.

After researching for this post in the wake of the loss of Robin Williams, I was left with the deep desire to do even more for the huge community of people affected by depression and anxiety, but I didn’t feel like I was mentally or emotionally prepared to help anyone. As someone who has struggled with both anxiety and depression in the past, I wondered what I could possibly offer to someone who was emotionally drowning in mental struggles.

So I thought to turn to one of these organizations that reach out to people affected by depression and suggest an idea.

What follows is this idea, and our correspondence.

Screen Shot 2014-09-13 at 7.21.36 PM

_________________________________________________________________________________________

To the wonderful people of iFred:

 After exploring your website and learning about all the wonderful work your organization does for the community of people affected by depression and anxiety, I was struck with an idea. Now, before I present this idea, I want to preface this with the fact that I have little to no experience in the field of medicine, psychology, or psychiatry beyond my own personal experiences in therapy and my own battles with anxiety and depression. So really, it’s just an idea. But I hope it’s a helpful one.

 I recently wrote a blog post about how one could help out people affected with depression, and this idea presented itself to me, quite on it’s own. What if we created a digital information packet that could be distributed to people who would like to be more informed on how to be there for people affected by depression and anxiety in the most effective way possible? In this packet we could educate people about depression and anxiety, as well as teach them about how to talk to (or even just listen) to people who needed help. Also, the packet could include a sticker or icon to put on your Facebook or car window that would indicate that you are a willing, able, and confidential advocate for people in need; that you’re informed, caring, and willing to help out your friends in need in any way possible.

I thought I would pass along my relatively and self-admittedly uninformed thoughts to someone who could maybe bring this idea into reality. I love what your website promotes and provides for this community in need, and I am always looking for ways to help out. Please keep up the good work- I know you will!

All the best,
Selena Moshell

_________________________________________________________________________________________

A week later…. I actually got a response!

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Selena,
Thank you so much for sharing your vision and idea with us.  It sounds like a wonderful resource to provide and we will explore the concept further.
We appreciate your advocacy and support.  Keep up the great work you are doing!
Sincerely,
Penny
Penny Tate
Schools for Hope Project Manager

_________________________________________________________________________________________

I was so excited to hear that my idea may come to life someday, and either way, the people at iFred to awesome things all the time… so it felt so good to be heard by people who have committed their lives to making a difference!

Leave a Reply

