Week 38- Eating… or not… for a good cause

Project: Panera Cares Cafe Charity Miles

Actual Time Taken: 30 minutes

This week I wanted to check out the Panera Cares Café up the street from the theater.

panera_cares

Panera cares, and so do I! (Image Source)

But its hours of operation would have none of it.

Turns out, it’s closed on the weekend.

Screen Shot 2014-09-30 at 3.35.38 PM

Yup. That’s me. (Image Source)

(A café closed on the weekend? Who would have guessed! Well, I guess anyone with the foresight to look it up online… but I digress.)

So my Girl Scout troop (Read: My twelve year old best friend, Hero. Just her. And me. We’re a troop.) had Mediterranean for breakfast and had a quick Girl Scout meeting instead, prepping for her next badge, which will be the cooking badge. (Tune in next week for full coverage of that culinary adventure!)

While I didn’t get to check out this pay-what-you-like community café, I did manage to squeeze in some pseudo-volunteering as I exercised this week though an app on my phone called Charity Miles.

charity_miles

Running for a cause of your choice! (Image Source)

As a dancer, I’m not really ‘supposed’ to run. When I was younger we were told that running would develop muscles that could interfere with the muscles I was supposed to be developing in ballet class. But I have a crazy energetic pitbull puppy (read: two years old, but will always be a puppy to me.) so I have to find a way to get his energy out every day, and running a few miles a week seemed like the easiest thing to do. (Bonus: It files his claws down as I run! So no traumatic nail clippings for us! Double win.)

So this week I ran around 3 miles, raising enough funds to vaccinate 4 kittens for the ASPCA and donated around $1 to WWF. Apparently as I run, I accumulate money from Charity Miles’ corporate sponsors and they donate it to the cause I pick for each run. Runners earn .25 cents per mile, and bikers earn .10. I chose to donate to a few different charities this week, but next week I think I’ll stick with one charity and see how much good my jogging can do.

Screen Shot 2014-09-30 at 3.57.07 PM

(Image Source)

Bonus: It logs how many miles my dog and I are slogging through every week!

Double win.

Photos (Thank you!):

Panera: http://3blmedia.com/News/CSR/Panera-Bread-Foundation-Brings-Panera-Cares®-Community-Cafe-Boston

Kitteahs: http://rubmint.com/2009/11/23/if-you-close-it/

Charity Miles: https://www.michaeljfox.org/foundation/news-detail.php?walk-bike-and-run-to-raise-funds-for-parkinsons-research

ASPCA: http://foac.us/big-thanks-for-aspca-grants-to-help-foac/

Leave a Reply

