Week 51/52: A New Site

Project: A new 52 Hours a Year site

Actual Time Taken: 1 hour, 45 minutes

Well here we are, nearing the end of the weird little project I started 52 weeks ago. (I’m a little confused as to why this year added up to 51.5 weeks or so… probably a glitch in the Matrix or something… or I’ve just lost count. Who knows. Either way, this is my post for the last week of 2014, so it’s 51 and 52, I guess…)

But before I can actually count it as ‘done,’ I have one last week of an hour-long project to fill. It was hard to find things to volunteer for during the holidays between the extra shows we were performing and traveling home to see family, so for this last week I had to improvise.

You may have already noticed a bit of a visual change from the last few weeks, unless this is your first time. If it is, just take my word for it. It looked a little different before this week, as it was just a list of my posts in chronological order- every week of my volunteering adventures.

Screen Shot 2015-01-14 at 10.56.15 PM

Our former look

Now, hopefully, you can use this page as a resource for your own quest to change your corner of the world.

There’s a tab at the top of the page (“Find a Cause!) where you’ll find links to all the organizations I worked with this year. If it was a local speciality, it’s organized by state, but if it was a national charity, it’s filed under “Nationwide.”

There’s also a tab for you to help you choose how to make a difference based on the amount of time you have to give every week (“Give What Ya Got!”). Even if you’ve only got five minutes to spare a week, you can make a difference!

My hope is that if someone, somehow finds this page in the future and feels inspired to give a few hours to a good cause, that they can use these resources to make a difference in their part of the world.

Or, if that’s never the case, at least I can leave it a slightly more well manicured corner of the World Wild Interwebs.

Leave a comment